UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA Faculty Senate

Faculty SABAMA

o.m.

Attending: Christina Wassenaar (presiding), Bret Webb, Vicki Tate, Donna Streeter, Michael Black, Clay Davidson, Yvette Getch, Marie Migaud, Sinéad Ní Chadhain, Andrei Pavelescu (Z), David Turnipseed, Laura Vrana, and Sean Walker

Introduction to new Mentoring Committee Chair, Dr. Michael Black. He wishes to address the gaps in resources needed by faculty to learn what they need to do, knowing about processes for achieving tenure, writing grants, or methods of teaching. While some progress has been made in developing resources, there still seems to be problems on how to access available resources. There needs to be better alignment with what we need with what is available.

Old Business

Vice President for Research & Economic Development Interviews:

- A draft letter has been compiled, outlining the strengths and concerns for each of the 4 candidates from the comments and emails the members from ExComm have submitted.
- Christina reminded the committee that the letter should not be an opinion piece from individual members, but should be based on what the candidates said and their positions are.
- The final version should be whittled down to about 5 important points for each of the candidates.
- Consensus was that there were some people that were stronger in some aspects, but that no one really jumped out as an outstanding candidate.
- Request that everyone give one last review so that it could be completed by Thursday, June 6

e main search committee has not received any communication from University administration on the status of the search.

d Changes in the Senate Standing Committee Charges

 Each of the standing committee charges were reviewed for suggested changes. [See attached]

"Chicago Statement of Freedom of Expression" / Foundation for Individual Rights in Education (FIRE)

FIRE -- https://www.thefire.org/research-learn/chicago-statement-university-and-faculty-body-support

Item was tabled until the July ExComm meeting.

Status of the proposed NTT handbook & Ombudsperson changes before CAD

- o There has been no feedback from CAD.
- There are actually four proposals before CAD: besides the NTT & Ombudsperson, there is also the mid-tenure review and the sabbatical proposals.
- There is a temporary ombudsperson for the summer sessions: Dr. John Cleary (Engineering).
- Christina will send emails to FS caucus leaders about the change so they can spread the word among their caucus.
- We are behaving as if the Ombudsperson policy was approved.
- Faculty Senate Resource web page will need to be updated indicating the change for the ombudsperson during the summer.

Update for the inversion/compression document [Streeter]

- Faculty Senate has been working since last year to update/revise the internal faculty, equity & compression policy document.
- The proposal was sent to Charlie Guest last February.
- He responded that he and Dr. Kent are working on it. They are looking at the revisions for "potential of economic impact".
- Previously these adjustments were made when there were merits raises. They were not done on a regular basis.
- As the new Chair of Faculty Salaries & Benefits Committee, Andrei will need to be included in the discussion.
- The whole discussion on this issue was because the Faculty Senate wanted the University Administration to publish the policy that they had so everybody could see it, for the sake of transparency.

New Business

- Guest speakers at the August plenary meeting
 - o Michael Chambers (Chief Economic Development Officer) for Sept
 - Decision for other guest speakers was delayed until the June ExComm meeting.
- Awards winners presentation at the August plenary meeting

- o Invitation to FS President to talk to COM Faculty Assembly in Nov.
- Christina would like to consider a couple of issues for discussion at July ExComm meeting: the workload and summer caps (given to Laura as Chair of Teaching, Learning, & Technology Committee) and PhD committee compensations

Meeting adjourned at 5:00 pm

Minutes compiled by Vicki Tate, Faculty Senate Secretary